Aung San Suu Kyi receives Nobel Prize

On 16 June 2012, Aung San Suu Kyi will receive the Nobel Peace Prize awarded to her in 1991.

  • Name: Aung San Suu Kyi
  • Born: 19 June 1945, Rangoon (now Yangon), Burma (now Myanmar)
  • Residence at the time of the award: Burma
  • Prize motivation: “for her non-violent struggle for democracy and human rights”
  • Field: Human rights

Here’s a video link to watch the ceremony live at 1pm Oslo time (9pm Eastern Standard Time; 6pm in Thailand).

NOTE: the live webcast is now over. You can read the speeches via the following links:

“In my own country, hostilities have not ceased in the far north; to the west, communal violence resulting in arson and murder were taking place just several days before I started out on the journey that has brought me here today. News of atrocities in other reaches of the earth abound. Reports of hunger, disease, displacement, joblessness, poverty, injustice, discrimination, prejudice, bigotry; these are our daily fare. Everywhere there are negative forces eating away at the foundations of peace. Everywhere can be found thoughtless dissipation of material and human resources that are necessary for the conservation of harmony and happiness in our world.” Aung San Suu Kyi

“Few have done more than you have to make the world a better place for all of us. We thank you for your fearlessness, your tenacity and your strength, and we wish you the best of luck with the important work ahead of you.” Thorbjørn Jagland